Beginner player - DSX elbow tremolo

Hi,

I started playing one year ago. This is me trying to go as fast as I can without experiencing significant stress.
What I’m irritated by, also during my normal phrasing, is when my pick really gets stuck. I feel this is slowing me down a lot and I can’t get rid of it unless I make a bigger motion.

2 Likes

Great start @steka ! I think this looks like elbow motion, hence DSX.

So the classic prescription in this case is to get started by practicing licks where you always change strings after a downstroke.

2 Likes

Thanks a lot @tommo . Great, I’ll pick up this section in the primer then.
Regarding my hand: I can also flare out my fingers more and put my Ring and pinkie ob the Body, but then I tend to pick single notes on slower phrases more from my thumb.
It actually feels better and I can hit the right strings more reliably. But : when I move the pick through the string with my thumb, the result is a real chirpy sound.

For a beginner like myself, is it advisable to try and keep sticking to the same motion all the time, or “just so whatever gets the job done”?

I like this principle, but I would add: it should also feel comfortable!

I think you can have different techniques / hand positions for different tasks. If you have a look at some of your favourite players, there is a good chance that their hands will look slightly different depending on what they are playing.

Reminds of this thread about VH repositioning his guitar for the stretch at the beginning of the Ice Cream Man solo.

1 Like

Just a thought / consideration: do you always play with your watch on? I’m really cognizant of anything around my wrist when I play (or even just on my forearm between my arm and guitar, like long sleeves) since it makes it harder for me to feel good control while picking.

Yes, I ruin my guitars with it but it actually helps me glide up and down the guitar body a little

1 Like

Here’s the deal - I’m still confused.