Pickslant change sequence question

Hi guys,

I have a very similar right hand position as Troy, so naturally a downward pick slanter. I started practicing the slant changes one week ago and would be happy to have your opinion on one topic:

Let’s say I am practicing a descending 6 notes pattern with 3 notes per string, for instance:
e-----15-13-12---------------
b------------------15-13-12–

According to Troy, I should practice the following motion (starting with DWPS and downstroke):

Down - Up - Down(rotate to UWPS) - Up - Down - Up(rotate back to DWPS) - etc.

Is there a reason why this movement makes more sense than:

Down - Up - Down(rotate to UWPS) - Up(rotate back to DWPS) - Down - Up - etc.

At least at practicing speeds, the second sequence feels more natural to me, since this back-and-forth-motion feels natural like a small strum, but I can’t judge at this point if at higher speeds this direct back-and-forth motion may create problems.

Thanks a lot in advance!
-Jacek

2 Likes

I think my hands want to do a similar thing with uwps.

At least for me, two rotations in a row can be challenging at higher speeds (the movement seems a bit more complex and athletic than straight up/down). This can create some tension which throws off my timing, so perhaps Troy’s strategy allows for a smoother sequence of movements?

I guess the natural thing if you don’t want to go “down, up, (down)rotate. up down (up)rotate” is “(down)rotate, up, down. (up)rotate, down, up”

Just so you’re not reversing slant in successive strokes.

I think this is what I do, and I think it helps me feel the correct starting stroke for each new string.

Troy’s method was based on his “primary” slant being DWPS, if you’re not so fussed about “defaulting” to DWPS then you don’t necessarily have to place the rotations where he does.