A Constructive Critique From A Newbie On CTC

Hello everyone. I hope that this is the right category to put this, but I just want to say I started playing the guitar since 9 months ago and am now playing quite well, thanks to CTC. However, the fluid picking motion that I have recently discovered and have been practicing with solid improvement, was definitely an interesting journey. The purpose of this post is to inform CTC about the perspective of a beginner and some things I think can be super helpful for newer players like myself trying to “get” this motion.

I endlessly stared at the screen in slow motion on nearly all of Troy’s picking techniques, tried to emulate at half speed/slow etc, but really getting no where. I mimicked the downward pickslant that he had, and even performed a rest stroke to pass the “test” of figuring out my motion. But I kept failing for 3 months straight. I didn’t see nearly any progress except that I could kind of do a 3NPS sweep with a very harsh attack, guitar center picking, lol.