A pedal board that would make Eric Johnson proud

…or maybe not :grin:

I don’t know about you guys, but creating a pedal board was always a huge pain in the ass for me.

Back in the day when I was a relatively inexperienced guitarist, I was part of a rock band and it got the point where we wanted to gig and I realized that to be able to play certain parts of our songs I had to have miraculous tapdancing skills where I had to switch from a clean sound with delay and chorus to a lead sound that was 3/6 dB louder and had no chorus but a wah.

At that time my ear wasn’t developed in the sense of having a reverence for classic tones/tube amps so I thought to myself:

I want to be able to switch between completely different sounds with the touch of a button.

It turned out that this was possible with a digital modelling amp like the Line 6 Vetta. So I bought it and, indeed, dialing in effects and switching was super easy.

Every song had its own bank with its own clean/dirty/distortion/lead sound plus presets to spare.

When the band broke up I later sold the amp and in those years I started to hear and feel the difference between digital modelling and real amps. I found that certain sounds could practically only be created with certain analog pedals and a real amp.

I started acquiring pedals and with that the tap dancing problem returned.

With the music I currently make it is even more important for me to switch through wildly different sounds, because some sounds (think Rage Against The Machine and beyond) engage 5 or 6 pedals at once that I then have to switch off in one go.

I’ve seen Tom Morello trying to do that live with less pedals and it’s a pretty hectic situation for him; it’s a real challenge sometimes.

After thinking long and hard I decided to get a G2 (gigrig) system. The problem with those things is that they sound fantastic, are built like a tank and are very reliable, but they are not exactly cheap.