Advice on picking technique

Hey everyone i am new to the forum. I will try and keep this as short as possible. I have been playing for a few years now and most recently have been trying to play fast. I have watched troys videos and thought it would be a good idea to ask for advice. Hopefully these videos help. If i need to i can try getting some other angles.

I recently just changed my technique a couple weeks ago based on my recommendation from my guitar teacher. I am now using more of an angle on the pick. I seem to be getting tripped up when changing strings and also just feel like a cant play 16th notes past 130bpm smoothly. The other issue i am having is that every now and then my shoulder will start to burn. Any all advice would be much appreciated. Im getting extremely frustrated with my playing and just want to try and work it how with all the great advice on here. Thanks

I tried to get a better shot. I suck at this and at alternate picking.

1 Like

Honestly looks pretty good to me, at least from what I can tell. You probably just need to get used to it, since if you just recently changed technique, it’ll feel pretty awkward for a bit.

Ok so for just a few years of playing it sounds like you got quite far already. Good work!

In the videos you are playing a few quite complicated licks that require a lot of picking finesse. If picking speed is what you want, you need to really get down to basics. First of all, you need to find a good fast tremolo picking motion playing on one string. It’s first when you’ve got a good fast picking motion that you can expect your licks to get fast as well.

Please post a video where you are really going for it and not worry about playing to a metronome. What would that look and sound like?