Alternate Fresh Start

Hello,

First post for me, long time lurker, great form and amazing videos (I watched the whole primer serie)

I play guitar since 2006, however I consider myself a forever beginner, I started playing classic rock songs (led zeppelin, black sabbath, deep purple, ecc) but my enthusiasm stopped when I hit a wall in my alternate picking at 16h around 110 bpm, I then slowly gave up the “fast playing” style and proceded doing only blues, until I discovered Troy Grady last year.

I’d like to start over with my (very poor) alternate technique.

I’m trying to isolate the tremolo movement now, between the three techniques that I tried, the forearm motion seems to me the best.

I watched the “first try fastest” video but it seems impossible to me to achieve 16th over 110bpm with any of the techniques.

My question is: should I keep practicing slowly?

Is my technique correct for a decent playing?

I feel like I got a movement from the join of my thumb that get involved almost all the time, probably it shouldn’t.

Thank you

(sorry for my incorrect english, I’m not a native speaker)

Hi! Thanks for posting. What are your metronome results with the various table tap tests? Numbers please! That’s the first step.

Here are my tests, 180 bpm, 200 and 220

The knocking feels a lot easier, the wrist falls apart at 220

The feeling of the knock is a lot different when I try it on the guitar, it’s more a “turning” motion, and I feel like stuck

1 Like