Always wanted to have a picking hand

I stumbled across @Troy while googling “Picking technique” because I knew I was doing something wrong and was tired of working around it.

I’ve been playing for 34 years and I’m still at it. I’ve always loved Vai, Satriani, Gilbert, Wylde and the like but I’ve never come close to anything like that. I realized recently in an improv setting that my picking was really holding me back. I have a decent legato and dabble in hybrid picking, but I fear I’ve been inadvertently practicing the exact opposite of the DWPS. I’ve been practically resting the back/top of the base of my thumb on the strings when I’m not being careful while trying pick pick quickly. That ill-advised achor is leaving me feeling like my arm/wrist is floating when I try to utilize the DWPS approach.

Anyone have a similar experience or a hint at how to reinvent my approach without feeling like I’ve lost 34 years of time? :slight_smile:

Thanks!

3 Likes

Hi and welcome! :grinning:

When I get you right your downsttrokes escape and the upstrokes are trapped?
If so that’s UWPS (upward pickslanting).
That’s pretty common, especially for 3nps players.
If I’m right and you feel comfortable with that, I would think about these options before I change the motion:

• start even note groupings with an upstroke (one needs to get used to that, but then it’s the same as DWPS just mirrored)
  • play an oddd numbers on first string and even numbers on the following (starting with a downstroke)

If you want to play around with different motions the best entry-point so far is this:

34 years playing are never lost, in worst case neighbours and family had a chance to get used to it :wink:

3 Likes

You summed it up perfectly. Yes, I started my quest for speed with 3nps! It’s a relief to know it’s somewhat common.

I’ll be digging into that intro video more closely now. I have a one month subscription and the content is mid boggling!

1 Like

Haha glad if I helped you.