Am i doing this right?

Hi - I’m a newbie, just diving in to the world of wrist mechanics. Here’s a couple of videos:

upstroke escape, trigger grip side view slow motion:

and normal speed:

a few things:

-traditionally, i’m a shameless string-hopper - trying to break that habit. i tend to be pretty stiff-wristed.
-i can’t do this any faster without my muscles tensing up and veering in to string-hopping territory. this is all still pretty new to me; i’ve been playing a long time, and i play a lot, literally every day - so the grooves are worn in pretty deep. is this normal? or is the fact that i can’t go any faster an indication that something isn’t lined up quite right?
-i watched the explanation for downstroke escape, but for the life of me i don’t understand how to do the pronation version of that technique (ie, the version where you don’t change your forearm alignment). help?

in terms of goals, i’d like to loosen my wrist, i’d like more of my playing to come from my wrist in general. i play a lot of rhythm guitar too - that’s been an area of special interest lately. (in fact, is there any content on the site that addresses funk rhythm playing? there should be!)

thanks for your time!

2 Likes

Hi! Thanks for posting. This doesn’t look stringhoppy to me, so it’s a good first stab. However, in general, when you’re trying to learn a new motion, and you experience what you’re describing here, where you can only make very deliberate slow motions like this, and you experience tension trying to go faster, then that is very clear feedback: it’s not right.

The number one thing you can do right now is find something you can do fast, right away. What you don’t want to do is put time into a motion that’s not working. Instead, your goal is to do a motion — any motion — that you can do quickly and at least somewhat smoothly. It may not be the one you want to use long-term, that doesn’t matter. You gotta start somewhere.