Am I double escaping/crosspicking? part 3

Hi all! I finally got around to posting another try at a double escape motion (after 14 months - whoops!) Wondering if I’m actually double escaping or still string hopping? Or, maybe a 2 way pickslanting thing like the Mike Stern Fat Time arpeggio? Or something else? My picking motion for this feels relatively flat and tension free - it’s not super clean and I feel I could be swiping some strings? Let me know what you all see - thanks!

https://youtu.be/ZFVB3vyqlzY

Here’s the tab of what i’m playing:
Double Escape.pdf (49.2 KB)

I’m no expert (I’m trying to sort out my own right hand at the moment!), but your motion looks like some sort of elbow movement- it looks like your whole forearm is moving up and down, even as though your shoulder is involved. It looks like you’re clearing the strings, but that motion doesn’t look very efficient to me. How fast can you play that? Even if it’s sloppy, it’d be worth trying it really quickly because if it doesn’t work at all at reasonable speeds, you’re probably using an inefficient movement.

Hi - thanks for the feedback! Yes, I totally am moving my forearm and shoulder - I guess I thought there must be some other picking motions involved like wrist, if I am actually clearing the strings. I can play the passage faster but it does get sloppier - my hand and forearm don’t get tenser - there is a little more tension in my shoulder but nothing crazy. I’ve tried some other picking hand setups/movements for double escape but this motion seems like my best try so far…I’m trying to play other licks with this motion but not a lot of success so far…

Efficiency isn’t about how many joints you use. It’s about not using the same muscles for the upstroke and the downstroke. There’s nothing inherently inefficient about using combinations of motions. There are lots of fast players who do that.