Am I getting injured or not?

This problem has troubled me for a long time, I have learned guitar for 8 years and I cannot even reach 130 bpm 16notes. Recently, due to the suspension of the university, I get a lot of time to practice and I have to practice a song named “Waking the demon”, which focuses on tremolo picking and muting technique. So I decided to practice tremolo picking regularly, many sets of tremolo picking from low bpm to higher bpm ( starting from normal alternate picking). I practiced this routine on 17/2/2020, and today I find that I cannot even handle the alternate picking in low bpm. I am really frustrated, and I wonder how could I improve because I have tried different approaches to try to tackle this problem, and I already get injured so that I cannot generate any force from my wrist? How could I find a better and efficient way to practice? Thank you so much if you try to help me to escape from this hell :disappointed_relieved:

3 Likes

I’m no doctor, but it sounds like you may have overdone it and burnt yourself out. Rest up for a week and see if you are in the same state. Don’t be tempted to play if you think you have injured yourself. If the problem hasn’t sorted itself out then definitely see a doctor or physiotherapist.

In the past I have done mammoth sessions with the metronome going from low speed to high and had very little to show for it other than sore arms and disappointment. I used to think that starting really slow would help, but all it did was fatigue my arms by the time I got to moderate speeds. Now, after I warm up I go straight to the highest known comfortable bpm and start from there. I use small focused time and try to avoid playing more than I need to on repetative exercises/practice licks.

I hope that this all works out matey - let us know how you get on…

2 Likes

Hey man!
Do not loose hope, such experiences are not uncommon.