Any new bands/instrumentalists you guys have discovered/are into?

I’m assuming majority of you guys are into the late 80s music era, when there was the glam metal stuff, new wave of british heavy metal, classic rock, the shrapnel shredders and the old school thrashers. But I’m wondering if you have unearthed any new music gems recently in the past few years? I’m talking like maybe…early 2000s till now.

I’ll start the ball rolling. Really sorry if it happens to be a double post :'D

A few years after I started playing guitar I was talented scouted by a local metalcore band who thought they could bring my element in speed into their sound. While I struggled a bit to try adjusting to this modern metal music, I discovered a lot of unexpectedly nice music during my journey with them!

1. Veil of Maya (Marc Okubo seems like a very heavy duty crosspicker/2WPS’ter with those crazy riffs)
  2. Born of Osiris (and I became a Jason Richardson fanboi at that moment. Love at first shred)
  3. Attila (the first metalcore band with an effecient axeman in their ranks. I’m deeply impressed)
  4. Bring me The Horizon (they don’t really do any technical stuff but their stuff is really good and catchy!)
  5. Oceans Ate Alaska (first time hearing math metalcore and I was floored)
  6. Meshuggah (cuz that riff from Bleed made my brain bleed in pure astonishment. And also dj0nt)
  7. Periphery (cuz…dj0nt) xD
  8. Vitalism (modern sound with modern meodic technical playing!)
  9. Polyphia (more because I was whoring after JR’s solo in Aviator xD but those guys write lit tunes)

Ill prolly add more to the list later on but Yeap, these are my top 9! What about you guys? :slight_smile:

1 Like

Based on your background and that list, I’d DEFINITELY check out Angel Vivaldi.