Any one ever get into Pat Martino?

So I’ve been transcribing Pat Martino for a couple years now and can never get to the speed that he’s playing? In one of his books he has 6 different shapes that are related to the modes of the scale and I’ve learned them all. No matter how hard I try I can’t get it above 120 BPM. I have meticulously been studying Troy’s Malmsteen lessons in pickslanting. I have conquered some big hurdles and getting some of the major scale modes. However I find it difficult to apply it to Pats playing. Can you can anyone shed some light on Pats technique? I’ve heard him talk about it and he says that he doesn’t focus on it at all. Would love some tips. The logic of upward pick slanting basically is the same as damn word pickslanting except for in reverse so I can definitely see how the anti-gravity thing could possibly work with Pats playing. Anyone shed some light on this subject could be greatly appreciated

1 Like

Pat is a pronated (i.e. “upward pickslanting”-style) crosspicker, similar to Molly Tuttle and David Grier. If you’re trying to do get there with a one-way pickslanting technique like Yngwie you’re going to run into a million scenarios that don’t “fit the rules”, where you have to rearrange fretaboard notes, use pulloffs, or make small changes to the line to smooth out the picking. This is actually a really cool homework assignment, and whenever I do this I am reminded of just how far you can get with “only” downward pickslanting, and how little the technique actually constrains you musically.