Bluegrass picker turning to shredders to fix my right hand

Hi all James from Ireland checking in. I’ve been playing guitar on and off for about 13 years now with about 90% of that time on acoustic folk genres (mainly bluegrass). Since I was a kid I’ve always had a tension problem resulting in extremely sloppy playing at speed. I’ve dabbled in a little bit of electric guitar after seeing the likes Paul Gilbert playing straight alternate picking lines at double the speed of any bluegrass tune to try and fix this right hand problem. I’ve finally ended up here after deciding that I haven’t treated my playing seriously enough over the last 7 years or so with other hobbies taking over.

Been experimenting with different picking approaches using the “start with fast” technique and to be honest I don’t really see how I can develop these techniques to work on any other type of picking other than straight tremolo. My DSX ended up with the pad by my wrist clamped on the lower strings and wailing away on the G string, first relaxed and then as fast as I could with some (read: a lot of) bicep tension. I also tried a USX with wrist motion which felt better although not quite as fast.

I’ve attached some videos here demonstrating:

1. My natural picking technique (stringhopping)
    https://drive.google.com/file/d/1Q5KNoPiZzuwPscM8fw_VnsxpxN2Y6cT_/view?usp=sharing
  2. USX and DSX
    https://drive.google.com/file/d/1Q7URH-KWC1-hKSPDbYZuRoy1eko5fnBV/view?usp=sharing
  3. USX and DSX in slow motion
    https://drive.google.com/file/d/1Q7PzgiXIhHHDm3Uy5KE6RubgsSnXKa19/view?usp=sharing

I’d appreciate any feedback/advice on how to develop my right hand to play blistering, but most importantly relaxed and clean leads. I’ve also set a fun goal to get Cliffs of Dover down note for note by the end of 2021 so I’d love to smash that also!

4 Likes