Blues Pentatonics Expansion Pack

I’ve been wanting to make this thread for awhile. I’ve been playing live in cover bands for several years now, always trying to fit in my Gilbert licks, or my Malmsteen licks, or whatever, but what always gets the crowds attention the most is a good ol’ trusty blues lick right from minor pentatonic. And it hit me one day; listening to tunes both old and new, that the blues stuff always sounds the coolest in the context of a full song. So my goal for this thread is to post an infinite number of licks that our favorite players have played live or on record where they put their own spin on the minor blues stuff and make it sound awesome! I encourage everyone to post your finds, include tab if you have them! Lets keep the video clips short and to the point; give us a timing of when the lick occurs in the video if ya can. I will get us started with a few bangers. I see this thread thriving because a lot of these bluesy spinoffs really aren’t that hard to incorporate into your playing at a faster pace and are usually easier to pull off live consistently (in my subjective opinion).

1. Joe Bonamassa - just some awesome EJ style stuff, beginning of video to 0:15

2. Dario Lorina - 2nd guitar player in Zakk Wylde’s band; only a few seconds long

3. Buckethead playing Paradise City; start at 6:40, that first opening lick

4. Yngwie - sweet blues lick from this live song at 4:10
    Transcription here at bar 21
    Credit to @Jacklr for the soundslice

5. Dimebag - Revolution is My Name
    go to 1:53

Found the songsterr tab here; lick starts at bars 55-56

Hope we can share some solid blues spinoffs here! Cheers everyone.

7 Likes

Cool thread! I will try to think of some stuff

2 Likes

Lari Basilio’s solo on Pete Thorn’s In Good Company is stellar start to finish…but this lick in context is so, so cool. Starts with the open E jab and ends up between the 10th and 12th frets.