Breaking Picking Habits

Hi guys - new here. I searched a couple terms, but I wasn’t able to find what I feel I’m looking for.

I’ve been playing off and on (mostly on) for about 35 years. For most of those years, I didn’t work on proper alternate picking in lead playing. What evolved for me over the years was more or less “speed picking in time” and my fretting hand has, for the most part, caught up to it. I consider this technique “cheating” because I can improv lots of stuff here, but if I try to learn a defined piece, even a simple three-note-per-string scale, I can’t build up anything more than a moderate speed, and it’s usually sloppier feeling and sounding than my “cheater” technique.

I bought the pickslanting primer and I just finished the “Upstroke Escape” video, and I understand what’s wrong with my picking when I try to do it correctly - I think what’s happening is involuntary supination when I try to “escape.” Not bouncing, as such, but rotating the wrist rather than just deviating.

I want to fix this, but I’ve been playing for so long and have so many ingrained (bad) habits, that I’m not entirely sure where or how to begin to address it. I mean, I can start with slow, super-strict basic picking exercises, but I wonder if that all goes to hell if I start playing “my normal” after doing the exercise?

Do I have to stop all playing until I can get my retrained hand up to speed? To add insult to injury, I know I’m easily frustrated and give up on things, which is undoubtedly where I wound up with a cheater technique in the first place, but I’m more dedicated to correction now.

Pretty sure y’all are gonna ask for a video to show what the deal is, but what should I focus on? Showing the cheater technique (which I believe winds up a lot like upward pickslanting, so maybe that will be going for me later!). Should I show my hobbled attempts at alternate picking?