Brett Garsed - Monster Player - CTC dissection

Has CTC contacted Brett Garsed?

A close up dissection of his seminal Legato/Hybrid technique would be awesome!

Brett is a great guy! I’m sure he was be enthusiastic about the idea.

1 Like

Comments below are based on some clips I checked out online. The bit above looks like tons of tapping plus some hybrid picking.

Interesting sounds. This is my first time encountering his work.

Lots of Gambale-esque sweeps, and lots of hybrid picking. Alternate-picked stuff looks to me like lightly supinated wrist-based DSX, similar to Andy Wood. From the clips I watched, his musical sensibility is very Gambale-esque as well.

1 Like

He has this master class DVD I highly recommend, there’s a version of Foo Fighter that’s incredible. I’ve been a fan since I heard him on the Mike Varney Project with Gambale and Shawn Lane, it’s still is inhuman.

Some nice applications of the table tapping test around 1:08 :smiley:

1 Like

I am a huge fan of Brett Garsed.

I loved his solo albums, his earlier work with T.J. Helmerich and his appearances on Derek Sherinian/Planet X albums.

I’ve also studied his phrasing and technique.

2 Likes

Tbh I think a lot of his technique has been discussed in the ‘reverse hammer-on’ / allan holdsworth thread but… he’s also an awesome slide player!

1 Like

I can’t quite recall everything I wrote in that thread, it’s possible I may have some information about his fretting hand techniques that I didn’t include in my posts there.

His slide playing is incredible.

I started listening to Brett when I was about fifteen. I love his slide playing but I didn’t put any time into studying it specifically, I was more focused on his legato and his phrasing.