Broken fretting hand

So, in a moment of stupidy I have broken my fretting hand (only one bone, 5th metacarpal those interested) so im out of riffing and soloing for 6 weeks. However, ive taken this as an opportunity to learn some basic piano stuff but wondered if i could work on my pick slanting. I know fretting hand synconisation is important but as im in a cast, Im kinda stuck.

Any suggestions what I could do? Im a p/s newbie but i do get the general idea of ups/dps

1 Like

Yes, take a playing card and weave it through your strings at the nut (over, under, over, under,… you get it). Now you can practice roll patterns and all kinds of other picking exercises just with your right hand and get very precise and percussive feedback to every pickstroke.

You still have to answer for yourself, what you want to practice. 1NPS arpeggios, sweeping, all up to you.

Tom

2 Likes

Nothing to add, just I’m sorry to hear that, and heal up!

3 Likes

Permission to ask a flatfooted potentially stupid question*.

Why can’t you continue to use the other fingers?

*I know I do this all the time without asking permission, but this one might be particularly stupid.

My guess would be that muscle memory might trick you into using the broken finger even if you don’t want to :thinking:

Big fan of your questions by the way, keep going :smiley:

1 Like

My other thought was obstruction via bandage/splint/bracing.

But even then some one finger metal chugging might be on the cards.

Yes!
Tuned to a DropWHATEVER-tuning you can even play powerchords with one finger. Basically the whole Ramones-repertoire should be playable that way. And BAM!: We have the need for prolonged fast 8th note downstrokes…
@Jetfire Now you know what to practice with your right hand :wink:

My hand is in a cast but my index and middle fingers are kinda free. However, I dont want to risk rebreaking my injury.

Please please listen to what your medical professional is telling you and don’t do what I say.