Broken Roll - is it String Hopping, Crosspicking, or double escape?

So the good news is that “wrist” is starting to get baked in… in other good news, I can go back and forth between that and elbow, so that’s pretty cool; definitely opening some different doors. Anyways, as I was watching the Crosspicking wrist video, I messed around with a bunch of the examples (Emphasis on mess) and it didn’t seem too bad, so I started practicing a bunch of the rolls. Of course, now I have questions… and yes it’s a trainwreck, meh all good lol Plus I just learned how to make my phone capture much higher quality video (duuuuhr, man, I can be dense…) Anyways…

1. What exactly is the difference between “crosspicking” and “Double Escape”? Is crosspicking only for rolls?

2. What the hell am I doing here? Is it right in respect to picking? I practiced a bit after I made the video and got it up to about 132bpm -sloppy- but it felt like I might be able to clean it up in time, it’s just that clockface motion is kind of a weird feeling for me…

3. What is the maximum tempos people are doing with crosspicking/DBX/Whatever…? And at what tempo is it impossible to be stringhopping at for crosspicking? (I know that in regular alt picking on a single string it’s like 130-140bpm @ 16ths where stringhopping goes to die…)

Anyways, thanks in advance for any feedback/guidance guys.

1 Like
  1. I think crosspicking refers to playing 1 note per string arpeggiated lines alternate picked, which would require double escape. The ones that come to mind are Tumeni Notes by Steve Morse and the intro arpeggios in The Glass Prison by Dream Theater.
  2. This looks like crosspicking with a noticeable amount of string hopping. It’s correct, just not as efficient as it could be. I wouldn’t be concerned though, as you’ll likely clean up with time.