Can you get lower action with heavier strings?

I have been experiencing hand issues a lot over the last few months, so much so that I have been playing only rhythm guitar for the past 4 weeks. The issues lies with my CMC joints on both thumbs - I work as an audio transcriptionist so I’m typing for a lot of my working day. I’m seeing a Rheumatologist next week about my thumbs, hopefully I will get them injected.

As of now, bending strings is out of the question due to pain. Playing single note lead lines can lead to some pain too.

I’m using 9s right now and my action is around 1.75mm. My neck relief is around .008. These numbers have been my standard setup for all my guitars over the years. There is some acoustic buzzing, but no buzzing through the amp.

I’m wondering if I was playing a heavier gauge string, such as 10s or 11s, would it enable me to get lower action without buzzing? I read that heavier strings have less of an arc when vibrating, and therefore less buzzing?

Also, I read that you don’t have to bend heavier gauge strings as much to reach the pitch you want them to go to.

I realise there is a lot of nonsense written online by people who may be spoofing, which is why I came here, in the hopes there is someone who understands physics well enough to perhaps give a definitive answer…

If your goal is to use less force for fretting and/or bending, then you’re better off going down in string gauge not up.

Fretting a string is just a special case of bending, so we can use a previous analysis of the physics of bending to get the answer: Is it just me or it is pretty hard to bend the high E string? - #13 by induction. Result: The force required to bend or fret a string is proportional to the tension of the open string. At the same pitch, a thicker string has more tension, so it will be harder to bend.