Cascade Pentatonic Chunk Struggle

Hi.
I have been struggling with the Pentatonic Chunk exercise in Cascade for a few weeks now. Despite becoming obsessed with mastering this short lick and trying to get it to 110bpm, I can only manage 80 (on a good day) without it sounding very messy and disjointed
Am I doing something wrong with my downward picking technique? I have tried every possible combination of movements that I can glean from the course, but still cant get it to sound fluid.
Maybe a fresh pair of eyes will see something.
I’m starting to believe it will never work.

The abrupt ending is when my phone fell off the sofa.

1 Like

I’m not an expert but it looks to me like you’re switching to downstroke escape halfway through the lick, it doesn’t seem like you’ve got a clean upstroke escape going on throughout.
Maybe try different pick grips and wrist orientation and see if one gives you a more natural upstroke escape ?

If it’s any encouragement, I’ve also been struggling through EJ licks for weeks - I can do the cascade lick descending but struggle with the same licks ascending, or with the lick that goes up and down the pentatonic at speed.
For a while it was due to my left hand - the thumb has to switch position half way through which is a challenge, and now I notice my right hand has trouble doing fast string switching when ascending.

I think you might benefit by playing it first using just legato. And try to get the pull-offs to sound fluid first. And then add in the picking in.

As far as your picking technique, it’s hard to tell. It kinda looks like you aren’t getting good escape towards the end of each chunk, but I could be wrong.

1 Like

Thanks for the feedback.
I suspected that it was a problem with the upstroke, but am finding it almost impossible to keep a consistent action. If I focus on just that, It improves moderately but the next time I pick up the guitar I seem to have lost the feel of the pattern.