Chicken Picking Technique, Brad Paisley, The Nervous Breakdown

I’m new to chicken picking, trying to learn Brad Paisley’s “The Nervous Breakdown”. Great video with tab, see link below.

My question is: where exactly does the middle finger come in? I would think, in most of chicken picking, the middle (or ring fingers) come in, to allow some ‘relief’ from picking, allowing you to change from upstrokes to downstrokes in your picking. Is this the right way to think about it?

For instance, in the first measure here, I think I would do:

__D____U___m___D_______U___m
—3 p 0 ----- —0 ---------------------------
-------------6------------3 p 0 -------------0

where you downstroke the pull-off, upstoke the next note, grab the open high E with your middle finger, then repeat. Using the middle finger to grab that open high E (or B) allows you to use your next downstroke on the pull-off. To me that sounds right.

Thoughts? Thanks guys . . .

I love Brad Paisley! That is a great playthrough. Ben Eller breaks all the picking down here

Looks like he is doing U (p) D m for the main pattern. That seems like a USX solution though. I think what you have suggested will work too in a DSX context. I don’t have a guitar nearby to confirm but that is my best guess.

1 Like

Yeah, he’s doing U (p) D m . I’m doing D(p) U m . We’re both using the middle finger the same way. I think I prefer the Down stroke on the first pull off. I just can’t start a riff on an upstroke!

I’ve recently switched back to a thumb pick. But it’s the same if your using a regular pick.

Down strokes are the pick or thumb, upstrokes are either ‘i’ & ‘m’, or ‘m’ & ‘a’ as it might be in your case if your using a pick.

Think of them in quad groups.
First note with the pull off sets you up for next two notes in rapid succession.

The first note has to be an upstroke with this riff.

with thumb pick: i-0-p-m
with flat pick: m-0-p-a

classical finger names.
i - index
m - middle
a - ring
p - thumb or downstroke.