Could someone share an improv roadmap?

Hello:

I have been playing for about 20 years (off and on, only seriously for the past 5).

I am OKAY at improv, but I seek that “enlightened” state where I can just flow over anything I hear.

I’ve recently began to study improv, and for an hour or so each day I work on:

Triads (Major, Minor, Diminished)
Learning every interval from each root (Tom Quayle’s method)
Pentatonics (adding 9th, 11th to each Pent. shape)
Building Chords from shell voicings (specifically 7th, 9th, 11th, 13th chords from 5th and 6th string roots)
CAGED positions, and outlining chord changes with arpeggios, triads etc.
Modes (mostly digesting the Lydian, Dorian, Mixolydian, and Phrygian modes)

I know this stuff takes time, but I don’t feel like I am advancing as quickly as expected.

Is this just one of those things that will take many years? Should I keep sticking to these concepts and hope for the best?

Or can someone offer me a better “roadmap” of things to work on?

Thanks!

Start with one note over a drum groove, or metronome and work from there.

1 Like

Here’s a quick and dirty:

1. Locate all the chords for a given song in one position on the neck, as close together as possible. Don’t use power chords that slide up and down the neck. All chords must be in the same general position, a few frets away at most. So you will have to change chord shapes to get each chord.

2. Learn and memorize one lick that works for each chord, in the same spot on the fretboard as the chord, so that whatever spot your hand is in for the chord, it is in the same spot for the lick.

3. Fire up the track / song, and play said licks one after the other when each chord arises. Make small tweaks to said licks so that you can connect them together without stopping.

Success! You have soloed “through the changes”.