Counting the Black Star Lick and others

Hello all - newbie here. Love this site!

So this is probably a stupid question, but how is Yngwie counting the black star lick? Is it 16th’s starting on the & and landing on the downbeat? Starting on the downbeat and landing on the &? Not 16ths at all? Am I missing something?

Same question for the Example 7 on the Malmsteen REH video (Troy breaks it down in episode 10 of cracking the code “Inside the volcano”).

I realize that my ear should probably be good enough to pick this up - but honestly I’m just not getting it. And it’s really difficult for me to learn the licks with chunking so I can play them fast if I don’t have a down beat of some sort as a mile marker.