Cracking the tracking

I’ve had some really nice dwps/crosspicking progress for a few months, but some stuff (especially inside string changes, as expected) is still problematic. Also, sometimes
I can play something ascending but not descending or vice versa, even if it’s the same amount of nps. Yesterday I think I’ve stumbled on what may be the source of these problems. I haven’t watched the new primer, so it might have been covered there already. I’m new to these techniques so please take this all with a huge grain of salt.
I feel like tracking UP (b to g string) needs to be combined with a downstroke and tracking DOWN (g to b) must be combined with an upstroke. Also, there can’t be two opposite string tracking movements one after another, because it causes pain (sort of tracking’s equivalent of stringhopping). So if you have a basic 1, 2, 3,4 excercise
b-----------5-6-7-8
g-5-6-7-8----------
it would be down, up, down, up combined with tracking to b string, down up, down, up.
If it’s the opposite
b-8-7-6-5----------
g-----------8-7-6-5
it would be down, up, down, up, down combined with tracking to g, up, down, up.
Tracking movement happens on different parts of the beat depending on which direction you’re going.

1 Like

dunno if I agree with that example. Seems the second one would still be down, up, down, up with tracking added

Inside changes are easier for me. I struggle sometimes with certain outside changes. I assume this is because I have gravitated more towards uwps

here is sort of how I look at it: There are several ways to move the pick. Ignoring all the various “wrist deviation vs 4arm rotation” aspects, lets just look at 2 ways the pick can move.

1. tracking. In other words, the same as pure sweeping. The hand itself is more or less rigid and all movement comes from the arm or shoulder or somewhere other than the hand.

2. regular pick motion mechanics such as wrist deviation or rotation or whatever.