Daily practicing routine

Hi, I’ve been playing guitar for 8 years (mostly funk and blues) and i want to play some ‘shred’ type stuff but i really need help with my practice routine. I have more than 10 hours for practicing, but i don’t know how to practice effectively. I’ve been practicing for the ‘changing direction’ (downward pickslanting-yngwie malmsteen-chapter 4) over the past two days (10 hours per day). Should i practice more than one exercise or more than one technique at the same time? There are a lot of questions in my mind and this is really confusing for me. I can feel that i’m speeding up when changing strings, i can play the ‘changing strings’ lick at 120 bpm [as sextuplets (240 bpm as triplets)]. (140 bpm sextuplets on single string). Should i continue to practice only one lick or what? What should i focus on while practicing? Thanks for your time and answers.

1 Like

What are your goals with the guitar? Be specific. Practice time should be goal-oriented in my opinion. If your goals are vague like “I want to play faster” the guitar will just end up being frustrating. Faster at what? If you practice a certain lick every day to a metronome or using speed bursts, you will get really fast at that lick over time. But what does that accomplish? There are a million other licks that you probably can’t play very fast.