DSX Player Doing the EJ Atom

Hi everyone,

I’ve been playing guitar for about 15 years, but I’m new to the world of shred guitar. I’ve completed the Primer and determined that I’m primarily a downstroke escape (DSX) player. I’m currently working through the Cascade Seminar and started learning the EJ Atom in the past two days. I started at Troy Grady’s recommended speed of 110 beats per minute (BPM) and slowly dropped it to 100 BPM. However, I’m having some trouble with my hand synchronization.

I’ve attached a video of me playing the EJ Atom. Is there anything I can do to improve, or should I just keep practicing this section until my brain builds the neural networks to get it sounding good?

From my own analysis, I think I’m tripping up when switching from the G string to the high E string. But I’d love to hear your thoughts.

I also reviewed Adam Przezdziecki’s video on DSX, which was a great help in translating these USX EJ licks to DSX.

Any feedback would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!
[ blank line ]

[ blank line ]

1 Like

Hi there,

From your video, I think it’s evident that you have the potential to hit that kind of phrase at high speeds.

Can you play the same pattern on only two strings? Is it any cleaner than the 3-string version?

Personally, I think that when it comes to 2-nps pentatonics, once you develop the skill to cleanly switch between only two strings, the skill naturally translates into longer runs like the EJ licks with a little bit of tracking.

Hey great work, man! That’s some tough stuff to play! I’m a DSX powered player myself, and I love pentatonic stuff, 2nps things and find it really fun to try and come up with ways to “solve” the incompatibility my setup has with certain passages.

Adam’s stuff is awesome, thoroughly helpful - if you know that, then I definitelyI won’t waste your time restating that. Great stuff. Adam’s awesome.