Dug up some old tunes I composed!

Was just doing a general clean up of my drives the other day and wow, I had totally forgotten that Ive actually made music 3 to 4 years ago!

There are quite a few, but I’m particularly proud of these two!

At the time I was graviting towards more Thrashy/Neo Classical stuff with metalcore elements. I still have those roots even though I’m studying jazz and tbh whenever I think I suck I can at least look back at these songs I made and be confident that I’ve managed to pull of some recording stuff on my own.

Yeah, the mix is very very amateur. Was just using my ears very closely as well as referencing some band’s mixes I listen to. I use FL Studio as my DAW and my Line 6 KB37 for input.

Been using a lot of Drop C for my stuff, but I dunno, maybe I should try out Drop D if I do decide to re-record these beasts.

Lemme know what ya guys think :slight_smile:

2 Likes

I thought they were pretty cool, I liked Black Tactical the most, I found it more melodically pleasing quite Symphony X like! I thought the solo could have been earlier in the song and longer, maybe build up the tension a bit more with slower playing before you rip into it at the end.

I reckon that you should dive into CTC stuff and after a while, record yourself playing these tunes again and see what improvements you can make and if you think your playing has improved.

2 Likes

Recording your own music is an awesome feeling, huh? Congrats! :smiley: