DWPS help needed

Hi,i been working on DWPS for sometime,so video 1 and 2 are examples of top speed and kind of clean playing for this lick,the third video is faster but a bit out of control but it feels more relaxed in the hand maybe for me,so anyway any advice on anything is welcome.
Im my opinion the diagonal that the pick should be doing in and out of strings it is not correct since i can hear the note on the string below the one i,m playing sometimes,also i,m tensing the hand and and using my fingers too to move the pick,and a few other things but i think you 'll see things i can’t see for myself .

thanks!

1 Like

I don’t know man I’m not a mechanics expert but I can play this lick very very fast and I see no meaningful difference between what you’re doing and what I’m doing. I think this is a good example of just practice more. Your form looks textbook to me. If things feel more relaxed a certain way, go with that.

1 Like

Ok,thanks!,maybe i am too harsh on myself ,i’ll keep on practicing this way.

Hi! Thanks for posting, and good work so far. I think the first order of business is asking what picking motion you’re trying to use. Wrist? Forearm? Combination? It’s not totally clear to me from these clips. These motions all look and feel slightly different, and part of the journey is learning to determine by feel which one you’re doing. It sounds like you’re already experiencing a little of the challenge of that, when you describe the motion changing as you attempt to go faster.

Have you watched our intro to picking motion talk yet? That’s this one:

I know it’s long, and we’re working on cleaning this up right now, into smaller, bite-size lessons that are easier to follow. So apologies from us on that. In the mean time though this is a reasonably good overview of different wrist, forearm, and elbow motions.