Economy Crosspicking?

Hi Code-Crackers!

I’ve been working my way through videos on the site for a few months and have improved a lot at economy picking (or what some would call “directional picking”) now that I understand the concept of two-way pickslanting.

One thing that still eludes me is how to handle string skipping with this approach. I’ve been working on learning a Bach violin partita and getting a bit stuck on this part:

The first four measures work fine using the following strings and pick motions: B-down, E-down, B-up, G-up. But it gets tricky once the G-string notes move to the D-string and my motion starts to feel very string hoppy.

Any recommendations for a more efficient way to handle this? I know it’s possible to alternate pick all of this using an Andy Wood or Molly Tuttle type crosspicking motion, but I’m hesitant to try to learn a whole new approach to picking just to play this passage.

Thanks to Troy and the gang for all the work you’re doing!
-Mike

i would say utilize swybrid and middle finger plucks if you need to get it done in a pinch for live playing purposes. and then work on doing it picked if you want to drive yourself crazy trying to perfect it. i am unable to see the video its private, but i know about string skipping.

what do you mean by stuck? it sounded great to me… :stuck_out_tongue:

try to swing rhythm it for a day or two and see if that lets your hands learn the motions better when you go back to regular rhythm. let your hands feel a groove, and get coordinated.

you could use fingers, tuck the pick into the index finger grasping it pointy end poking into the flesh of the tip of the finger, and use middle ring pinky and thumb

1 Like

Oops, video should be fixed now!

Yeah, the first person I saw play this was Rick Graham, who hybrid picks the whole thing: