Economy picking rest stroke

Okay so I’ve been running into this problem for quite some time now. First, for some context, I have been practicing economy picking for about 2 years now and can play 3 nps scales straight up and down with little problem. The issue I am about to describe occurs when I try playing a passage which involves, say, 3 notes on low e followed by one note on the a string followed by 3 notes on the d string and then one note on the g string.

When I learnt to sweep pick I got used to the rest stroke which involved following through a pick stroke and resting it on the next string till that string needed to be played again. When I try and play passages similar to the one I described above, what is happening is that after my first downstroke on the D string I automatically follow it through to rest the pick on the G string as I would during normal sweep picking but I need to keep the pick close to the D string for the subsequent up stroke.

How do you guys handle this kind of thing?

1 Like

Use sweep picking!

You’re already comfortable using sweep picking for 3NPS scales so now just do the same thing: for this pattern you would do DUD D DUD D (note you could also using your middle finger to pluck the note on the g string if you were then going to descend).

It might help to watch the Gambale interview to see the “traditional” rules for sweeping: odd number of notes continue the sweep while
even number of notes turn the pick around.

Then I’d watch the Jimmy Bruno interview to see economy picking in an “imperfect” world: when ascending switch to a string with a downstroke (sweep D D or alternate pick U D) and when descending change strings with an upstroke (Sweep U U or alternate pick D U)

You could also watch the Marshall Harrison interview to see some of the really cool “Swybrid” stuff he does (using Hybrid Picking with sweeping). He has some videos up on YouTube on economy picking, and swybrid picking that you should check out!