EJ pentatonic chunks insanely difficult for me

Hello everyone here…I’m excited to improve my guitar playing. I’ve been playing electric guitar somewhat seriously for the last 6 months or so; prior I played acoustic guitar a bit, and before that was focused on playing bass. I am unable to play in the style of Eric Johnson…yet those pentatonic patterns sound incredible to me…so I decided to join here (thanks Troy and team). I’ve been watching the seminar on Eric Johnson and within the first instructional portion I’m like…yup, so I just cannot play this pattern haha! Seems simple enough and Troy teaches it well, but there is just a certain speed point I cannot climb. This isn’t because I tried for 10 mins and failed…I’ve been attempting to play those pentatonic licks that fast for the last 3+ months…some days legitimately 5 hours per day until my fingers become so sore I can’t continue and no matter what I cannot get passed a certain speed hump. I’m starting to think I’m legitimately genetically unable.

When I play 3 notes per string runs…it’s lightyears easier for me. It’s smoother, it’s faster…it feels relatively effortless. When I try to play those two note per string pentatonic licks…they are awful, slow, sloppy. Even when I think I’m up to speed, I go and listen to someone elses cover or even Troy here and I realize I’m wayyyyy below speed. Please check out the video below…the first 20 seconds are me struggling…the remainder of the video is me playing the 3 notes per string much easier. I think the quality could be better, but I’m hoping you may gleam something from my video and give me some advice.

4 Likes

Short answer: your fast motion appears to be DSX. This is not compatible with two note per string patterns of you start on a downstroke!