Exercise to play Spanish Fly

Given this week’s news, I was wondering if anyone had any tips or exercises that they use to play the fast sextuplet part in Spanish Fly; the half picked line that Paul Gilbert uses. Three notes legato on the B string, three notes picked on the E string.

From playing metal, I can play it the opposite way, three notes picked, three notes legato starting with an upstroke. But, I cannot for the life of me, start a fast three note picking run with an upstroke. It’s like my wrist locks up.

Nice! Back when I was a guitar teacher for a living (which is scary to think about since this site made me aware of how much misinformation I probably spread), this is the very pattern I’d do anytime someone said “Hey Mr. Joe, can you play something fast?!?!?” lol That brief moment where the picking stops really queues up the 3 notes that are all picked. The contrast sounds awesome too. It’s fun to play around with palm muting on it too, in various places to gives some variety.

2 Likes

Whenever I see this kind of a playing, it makes me wonder about the many things I’ve read about “economy” - i.e. that fretting fingers have to move only exactly as much as necessary in order to play fast.

Gilbert’s not sloppy, of course. But I don’t see crazy robotic precision with his left hand either. Gives me hope that you can be human and still aspire to making some incredible sounds come out of the guitar.

2 Likes

He may do the hammer on style for the very first 3 notes, then all picked I believe.

Troy had posted some very eye opening slowed down clips and thoughts on sections of “Spanish Fly” that really blew me away. I feel like the CTC team and Troy are probably working on more Eddie related things to come.

You yourself have done a lot of eye opening stuff. I learnt the icecream man solo from you :smiley:

btw, where are the evh troy vids? I don’t think I’ve seen them?

1 Like