Exercises v Licks v Songs

I started with Speed Mechanics for Lead guitar, which is mostly exercises.

Then I graduated to Licks from various sources.

But I find songs are the best because they motivate me to learn.

And frankly even the hardest pieces are 50pct or more easy.

By time you have learned a few songs u have encountered all the exercises.

Any value in exercises or individual Licks? Isn’t learning full songs always better?

1 Like

No, because if you have a problem area you want to work on, you can isolate that problem area with a lick that focuses on that one thing (say, outside string changes). Playing a whole song won’t focus on that one thing nearly as well as a lick designed to focus specifically on that one thing.

1 Like

I tend to think exercises are better for honing in on problem areas than licks, but the same general thought applies.

I’d say the major advantage of, say, thinking about licks when learning a solo, is that if you do a lot of improvising (99% of my playing), then it’s easier to string together lots of bits and pieces. I don’t really think in terms of pre-arranged licks, I guess, but little fragments of them that can be combined - there’s a surprisingly long thread where me and another guy here were discussing permutations of that 14B16 on the G, then 12 on the B and E fragment of a blues lick you hear all over the place in Jimi, SRV, and (on different places of course due to his tuning) Albert King’s playing, and I guess that’s more how I think in terms of licks - less sentences, or even phrases, and more little snippets of a word or two.

I’m probably making no sense here. :rofl:

they all have their place. You dont have to choose lol

they could also be combined. Lets say you want to play a song by Paul Gilbert. Unless you are a massive shredder then you will be playing some licks and exercises to play Pauls song