Experienced player trying to remove string hopping technique

Hi Troy and forum members,

My name is Will and I am a professional guitarist based in New York City.
I am taking the primer course, and I have identified that I often use a string hopping motion. I am primarily a jazz player, and the vocabulary I have learned is often an odd number of notes per string. I want to learn the best technique for me to pick bebop and choro vocabulary at faster tempos. I have been playing this vocabulary for years, and I often rely on legato playing to compensate at faster tempos. I have never been able to pick all the notes of my phrases at fast tempos and I default to string hopping which causes tension and doesn’t work.

I noticed that I naturally gravitate towards the Al Di Meola technique when I play fast on one string. The problem is that it feels awkward for me to start phrases on an upstroke. Additionally, most of the phrases and vocabulary I play are not really suited for one-way pick slanting as they don’t have an even number of notes per string.

Do you have any advice for me on where to start? I know I need to get rid of my string hopping habit, but I’m not sure if one-way pick slanting works for the vocabulary I have spent years developing. I have been playing for 15 years, and I play professionally, so I know will be difficult to get rid of an ingrained habit like this.

Here is an up-close video of me playing on one string and then playing without thinking about the technique:

As you can see, at this tempo my lines start to get sloppy. I can see I am also using economy picking and legato in addition to some string hopping at this tempo.

You can also see a decent angle of my picking technique in the video below:

Any further insights into my technique and advice would be amazing.

Thank you for your time and this amazing educational community.

Best,
Will

2 Likes

Much smarter peoeple than me will opine, but perhaps this will help:

N is the notes per string.