Fare - Having some trouble with wrist USX motion

Hello CTC community!

I’ve been trying to switch my picking technique to a deviation based wrist motion one, as I noticed that I was clearly string hopping and hit a speed plateu trying to go faster than 100 BPM doing the classic 1234 chromatic exercise. After joning CTC and trying to absorb the Wrist Motion section of the Primer as much as I could (and later on watching the Bulletproof Wrist Picking with USX motion video on YouTube countless times) I thought I had something going on as I felt like I was able to perform a somewhat speedy tremolo, but following my teacher’s advice I started practicing the first 3 rounds of Gambale’s chop builder to try to improve my picking accuracy… And I’ve found out that I’m still having trouble picking every note even below 100BPM 16ths! I thought I should have at least cleared that hurdle already!

So, long story short, I tried to record just my picking hand holding my phone down the strings like if I had a Magnet (can’t wait to receive the real thing later this year!), and I saw some things that I wasn’t really expecting. Those videos were pretty bad to share here so I asked someone else to record my playing. Unfortunately my phone only goes up to 60FPS, but I think you should be able to watch the pick trajectory if you watch them in fullscreen :slight_smile: (EDIT: Damn, I swear these looked better on my phone… Please try watching them at 720p 60FPS, you can barely see the string I’m attacking sometimes but at least you can see the pick trajectory, sorry :frowning:)

First, some single string tremolo picking (normal speed, then slow):

And here’s me trying to perform the Chop Builder’s Round 2 Ex. 4, which plays 4nps across 4 strings consecutively (once again first normal speed, then slow). I know this isn’t too fast and that there are some fretting hand/sync mistakes here, but I’ve noticed that some of my upstrokes seem to be failing to cross the string from time to time: