Feedback needed: Classical Guitarist learning picking technique!

Hello CTC people!

After several weeks learning with CTC the importance and the effects of choosing the right fingerings (right and left hands respectively), I decided is time to give myself a try to the picking technique.

I consider myself a late intermediate classical guitarist who’s learning ways of efficiently use a pick to attack the strings rather than my fingers as I’ve been doing for the last 8 years or so.

I thought it would be a good idea to post my videos on here and get some feedback from the community early on.

I’ve used a pick before, but never studied it methodically until 4 weeks ago when I decided I’d give it a try, right now I’m studying the Volcano seminar and I’m in love with downward pickslanting. So here I go (My guitar has not proper strings because it’s actually expensive on my country right now, so I’m using a 3rd in the place of a 4th and my guitar pick is homemade, I try to get the best out of it):

3-String Diminished Arpeggio:

My objective right now isn’t speed, even though I try to play fast, my actual goal is playing clean before doing the metronome practice.

Ascending sevens on top two strings

Here an attempt to the Cascade Pentatonic of EJ

Here a chorus from Dark Eyes by Django Reinhardt

I find Gypsy to be a musical genre quite accessible and enjoyable. Despite of my Downward Pickslanting being “new” on me, I feel totally comfortable when playing these things I share here, at the moment of recording I tried to play at a velocity I could reach without lots of warming up.

So, my main question: Am I executing a proper downward picklasting motion?

Looking forward to reading you all!

Thanks a lot and specially to the CTC team for all the hard work and support.

2 Likes

Great playing! Very musical and clean.