Fellow CTC forum members, please have a look at my picking technique

Greetings fellow CTC forum members,

I’ve been watching Troy’s videos for quite some time and finally got around to joining the site during Covid.

I’ve been playing guitar for around 30 years and like many here, have not been able to reach the speeds I’d like. My goal has always been to be able to play like my favorite players, Warren DeMartini, George Lynch, Randy Rhoads, Uli Jon Roth, Gary Moore, Eddie Van Halen, etc… I’d love to be able to raise the speed limit even higher and include Yngwie and Paul Gilbert.

I’ve gone through the various tests in the Picking Primer and after posting a few pics on here of my pick grip (which was formerly at an awkward angle) and spending some time correcting it, I’ve now spent some time working on tremolo picking.

I hope my videos are sufficient to critique my technique. I’ve included one at speed and then at slo mo.

I’m curious to hear what you think of the mechanics of my picking and look forward to getting feedback.

Normal speed:

Slo-mo:

Thanks in advance for having a look. I appreciate it.

Definitely elbow motion, looking like you’re traveling a good amount past the string after you hit it; an easy way to increase some speed would be to minimize that distance.

1 Like

Thanks for having a look. I’ll work on minimizing my pick travel.

I guess my next question would be what is a good exercise to work on my picking using elbow motion.

I’ve always used wrist motion, which explains why I haven’t been getting faster.