For those about to pick I salute you

Hello guitarists,

I am from Bangladesh. I have started learning guitar from last year. Probably from March or April. It was one of my nephews who knew some open chords helped me starting the journey. I was always interested in playing guitar. It was mid 90s. I was a school student. The first Heavy Metal track that I listened was CFH. One of my friends told me that the intro was done by guitar and I was all charged up. But during that time there were a few shops in Dhaka (the city I live in) and they were cheap guitar but not so cheap in price. Someone having a guitar was rare. And finding a tutor! Dream thinking about it. After many years I bought this guitar. I had to start with the open chords. I did not even know about finger exercise or warming up until few months after practicing on the things I know I suddenly saw some tutorial content in YouTube. Since then YouTube is my main ingredients of meal. Now I can change chords and strum pretty well, I am good at finger picking and do a little bit of hybrid picking too. I can alternate pick, but these are not that fast. 60 BPM at most. I am not good at improvising on scales (I just don’t know how to do that). I have tried to get it faster after few seconds my wrist gets tired. Actually, I do not know whether I should ask it here, If someone could provide a chronological syllabus it on what to learn would be very much helpful. If this place is not meant for that please pardon me or it has been done somewhere here already please provide the link. I find it fascinating to discuss about different cultures, specially the Heavy Metal scenario of their country. I think I have written a lot here. If you guys don’t find it boring that would be good enough.

2 Likes

Hello, I am from Peru a country very far from yours but I loved the reference to AC / DC haha!
A pleasure that you are passionate about the six strings. There are many Routine practice topics on the forum.