Fractal FM3 Amps have a high frequency rasp

All the mid to high gain amps I have tried in the Fractal FM3 have this strange sound in the higher frequencies. This seems to occur regardless of the IR I am using.
I have made sure that there is no global EQ settings that might cause this, and I am just using a simple signal chain (1 amp block, 1 cab block). I have also tried using a high-cut, which doesn’t seem to help much. I have even tried reinstalling the firmware (version 7.00)

I am playing through my Fishman Fluence Modern equipped 7 string schecter, into the instrument input 1, out of output 1 using XLR to TRS cables into my Mackie CR5X monitors.

I am new to the fractal world, so any help is greatly appriciated :slight_smile:

Thank you!

The high cut and low cut in the cab block are your friends!! I used to have this problem and those were a big help. There are a couple of other tricks as well, but I can’t remember them off the top of my head.

I’m not at my computer to really get into detail but I made this preset and video and posted it on the Fractal forum the other day:

Choose the Basketweave Mix and the Cali 80s mix (Legacy) cabs, do the low cut at like 50 and the high cut at about 8k. If you still have the issue, post a preset and I’ll take a look.

2 Likes

Great, Thanks @DC11GTR

I’ll try sending over a preset when i’m at my computer :slight_smile:

I do wonder whether the issue I am having could be something to do with my monitors, as I seemed to have a similar sound occuring with my NDSP plugins especially on high gain presets. I was using the same speakers I was then as I am now

Thanks again!

It may very well be the monitors. I didn’t exactly shop around but I read a ton and the Kali IN5s were perfect for me. They’re FRFR, as far as I know, and everything has sounded great through them, even chuggy stuff. I also don’t play very loud. I use them as I could a regular amp. From Fractal to speakers.

1 Like