Generating random songwriting assignments (rudimentary code included)

Disclaimer: I am not a good programmer. In fact, I am not a programmer :smiley:

I wrote a (very rudimentary!) Phython code to generate random songwriting assignments. It needs python as well as the yaml and numpy packages.

I would be very happy to get input / feedback / advice from the community. And of course if anyone manages to use this for inspiration, Iā€™d love to hear what music you wrote with it :slight_smile:

Just dump the 2 files in the same folder and run it.

When you run the code, you just have to input a song structure like ā€œA B A Bā€. Then the code will extract various characteristics for each section (key, mode, energy level etc).

Here is an example output for a simple ā€œABAā€ structure.

Section A mode: G Phrygian
Section B mode: G Aeolian
----------
*** Section A (1) ***
Energy : high
Pace : fast
Arrangement : sparse
Heaviness : low
----------
*** Section B (2) ***
Energy : high
Pace : medium
----------
*** Section A (3) ***
Energy : low
Pace : medium
----------

The data that gets randomized is in a yaml file which you can fully customize to your liking. I added comments to both code and yaml file which I hope will be helpful to anyone who wants to take this further.

Edit: I canā€™t upload the files directly. I will just post the relevant code in the next comment.

So here is the code. Save it as a ā€œ.pyā€ file such as ā€œRandomSong.pyā€

# This "code" needs yaml and numpy modules for Python. 

import yaml
import numpy as np

# Open the (customizable) yaml file with the various song properties to randomize. Yaml file should be kept in the same folder as this code (unless you want to change appropriate details in the code below.)

with open('Songdata.yaml') as f:
    data = yaml.load(f, Loader=yaml.FullLoader)

#Ask user to provide song structure, e.g. use ABCB for "verse-chorus-bridge-chorus"