Getting good tone from cabinet sims

I have the captor x and i think that although the tones are good (especially overdriven ), I don’t think they are great. Am i doing something wong? What are your suggestions / tips and tricks for a good cab sim tone?

p.s… i use a mesa ta-30 combo

are you adding in extra EQ anywhere? If so, where are you adding it and what frequencies are you tweaking?

hello… i am quite new to cab sims world . No, i did not add any post eq. Just the tone controls on the amp. Also i only have the stock cabinets… The tones sounded a bit “thin” to me…

Have you ever used cabinet sims/IRs before? Have you typically played with real-world cabinets in the past?

One thing to remember is that IRs are quite different to playing through a real cab - not worse, just different. With an IR, you are capturing not only the sound of the cabinet, but microphone(s) used to record the sound, and the mic preamps used. This creates quite a different sound to a typical ‘amp in the room’ sound using a real cabinet - more like what you would hear on a recorded song.

Are you are listening to the sound through speakers that have a fairly flat response? IRs are ideally meant to be played through flat response speakers (e.g. studio monitors or frfr cabinets).

I use IRs and amp modelling and I really enjoy the tones I can achieve, and if I can get them to sound good, anyone can :rofl: