Getting Wrist motions to 180 BPM 16ths

Although I made a topic a few days ago about focusing on elbow motion, and while I think that me figuring out single string tremolo for all six strings with elbow motion is very useful for +200 BPM, I actually changed my mind and want to focus more on my wrist motion. I have far more control over it than my elbow motion and have a much easier time switching strings with it, since it’s roughly the motion I’ve been using since I started playing guitar.

My goal has always been 180 BPM 16ths, and my wrist motion is so close to reaching that tempo that sometimes it conflicts with the elbow motion when trying to play at strictly 180 BPM. Carrying on from the first topic I made on technique help, I’ve realized that most of the strain I experience seems to be coming from that motion instead of the elbow.

I didn’t do it to a metronome in this video, but when I usually do it, it’ll be like in this video, where I can hit 180 for a moment or two before dipping back down to ~170 BPM. Any pointers you guys have to optimize this motion and get in those extra few BPM would be greatly appreciated.

1 Like

Quick feedback: it looks like you have two motions in your video.

Your first motion seems to be wrist deviation DSX, while the second half of the video you slightly supinated your forearm, and looks like DBX using wrist deviation, maybe a little bit of forearm rotation. Hopefully others that have a better eye for this will chime in. If these are indeed two different motions, did you do that on purpose?

1 Like