Great Guitarists: self-taught or formally trained?

I’m fairly certain that all of the best guitarists of all time have been self taught no?

What makes you certain of that?

We know, for example, that Vai took lessons with Satriani.

And that’s just the one that came to mind off the top of my head.

Well Steve Vai can be seen as an exception rather than the rule. Shawn Lane, Allan Holdsworth, Guthrie Govan, Jeff Beck etc… all self taught and some of the best players to have ever lived in my opinion.

The statement that self-taught players tend to be bad and those that took lessons are usually good is just ridiculous and goes against all of my own experiences, both locally and on the international scale.

Everybody is self taught to some degree. I started with a teacher but it’s not like I stopped learning new things after I stopped taking lessons with him.

As for famous players who’ve taken taken formal lessons for an extended period, there are a lot more of them.

Richie Blackmore took formal lessons. Randy Rhoads took formal lessons. Paul Gilbert isn’t entirely self taught either, he had lessons with multiple teachers when he was younger and he attended GIT. Scott Henderson and Frank Gambale both attended GIT an went on to teach there. There are many more.

Then, there are many more players who learned through informal mentors, or come up through traditions like gypsy or bluegrass.

Even the players who we usually consider to be “totally self taught” rarely are. They learn from family, friends, more experienced band mates, other local musicians, etc. Even some of the players you’ve mentioned fall very much into that category.

Eric Johnson came up in the Austin scene, guided by several local mentors. Shawn Lane very much came up in the Memphis scene and under the wings of his Black Oak Arkansas bandmates. Eric Johnson visited Shawn Lane’s home multiple times to share ideas.