Greetings fretboard travellers

Greetings, friends! I’m Tiago from Portugal, I’m 32 years old and I’m very happy to have joined the CtC community.

• How many years have you been playing?
    It feels weird saying this out loud but 20 years.
  • What musical genres are you interested in?
    I’m interested in Folk Metal, Neoclássicas and good ol’ Hard Rock
  • Particular things you’re excited to learn / talk about here?
    I’ve always been an ok player, I guess. Not exactly bad but not good enough. I’m rather sloppy and I’ve got no strategies to play better and fast. For what I seen, the grip on technique that CtC allows you to have feels like just what I need, and that is the most exciting part about this.

How have you gone about learning guitar so far?

• Self-taught? Regular lessons with a teacher? Both?
    I had lessons with teachers over the years.

• Have you spent much time on technique before finding our stuff?
    I did spend some of time, but the picking hand was never the focus.

• What Cracking the Code material have you watched?
    Bits and pieces on YouTube. Teemu’s interview is my favorite. That guy can seriously play!

• Can you comfortably play a scale? At roughly what speed?
    I can. Around 180 bpms.

• Any particular things you find yourself stuck on?
    I suck at sweeping, and just playing things without mistakes is hard. It’s like my brain stops trying.

I am very excited about this. It’s not a new year resolution or anything, I just honestly want to have a grip on my playing.

1 Like

Hi Tiago, welcome! Sorry for the delayed reply here, I missed this earlier when I was traveling around the holidays.

Hope you find what you’re looking for and are enjoying things so far! Have you started going through the material in the Primer yet? Let us know if there’s anything we can help you find or any questions we can address!