Greetings from Siberia!

Hi, my name is Alexander, I’m from Russia (from Siberia – very far away from anything else!). Let me introduce myself.

I started playing guitar around 10 (30 years ago). I learned by ear a lot of guitar parts from rock and pop songs back then (Deep Purple, Led Zeppelin, etc.), I also used to just sit and improvize along with any recording or with a radio. Unfortunately, I didn’t have any electric guitar instructional videos or books for quite a long time, they were just impossible to get in USSR, I didn’t even know they existed. I had several books on classical guitar, but they didn’t cover everything I was eager to know. Still I learned tuning, neck, legato, scales, notation, etc. from these books. By the way, because of this later I thought the terms “hammer-on” and “pull-off” were redundant – for me it was the same technique called “legato”.

I only had very low-quality acoustic guitar with very high action and no access beyond 12th fret. (When I first played someone’s electric, it was some kind of shock – due to low action the instrument literally played by itself.)

I think I figured three-notes-per-string principle by myself while trying to get down a legato passage from Steve Vai’s Erotic Nightmares (as opposed to classical guitar style irregular scale fingerings). Then a guy at some local jam explained me alternate picking concept – until then I’ve never thought about it. After that explanation I realized that when I play ascending lines, I use legato in some places to make things easier (so it’s not alternate picking), but I pick every note when descending in D-D-U fashion (no alternate picking again). Why I can’t play an ascending line the same way – this I couldn’t understand back then. So I judged that my playing was basically wrong. :slight_smile: