Guitar picking help

I know it doesn’t look like it. But Ive been playing guitar for 20 years. Never could get past 100 bpms. no matter what I tried. But I feel like Ive gone back in time 10 years trying to re learn the motions of picking. Theres a huge misunderstanding to me when it comes to practicing slow and pushing your self. so Maybe someone could shed some light on this subject.
here’s a video of my playing. click the settings button in bottom right change the timing to slow it down if you need to. I personally think im using too much wasted motion, maybe my pick isn’t angled enough, But Ill let you decide.

1 Like

Welcome @Jeflock85 and thanks for posting!

What you are playing here doesn’t look that bad actually! Is this a Meshuggah-style rhythm? I noticed you are playing it as

DUD-D

But I saw somewhere a tutorial from Meshuggah’s guitarist where he showed it as DUD - U (i.e. fully alternate). I tried both and personally find the alternate version much less tiring.

More generally, what happens when you try to tremolo pick as fast as you can on a single string? Say the D or G string for simplicity. That is usually a good first step for us to analyse someone’s starting point.

Let me also attach some advice on filming - you did a pretty good job here already but this may help making things even clearer:

@tommo hey man. I can tremolo pick a single string about 180 bpms For couple of mins. But as soon as I go back to gallop or down picking it’s like my hand is a stumbling gazelle.
Last night for 30 mins I did nothing but single string picking. I felt really good about it.
My question is how long do you practice doing that single string picking exercise?
I feel like it’s programming your brain to learn this mechanics of the hand movement.
Only been doing this one day so we shall see.
Also is there a left hand exercise to get speed as well.
While I’m doing 16th notes on the G, my left hand can only do 8th notes.

Thanks, Jeff

Hey Jeff,