Hand cramps? Normal?

Hey Fellas,
I’ll upload a video of my right hand before long since I found a good phone holding stand… but quick question. I’ve been playing guitar for around 20 years, but it’s just been southern rock/country stuff. I have never ever been able to play really fast and thought it was just not at all possible for me until I found this blessing of a guy named Troy! Now I at least have a little hope that I can play fast and fluid one day……
On with the question… Is it normal for the hand to cramp when trying to find the technique that works for me? Does this indicate that I’m doing something wrong, or is it just a thing where it will take time for my hands to adapt without cramping?

Thanks,
Brian

Could be a few different things. Are you warmed up before playing? Do you feel the cramp while just getting into position, or actively playing? How hard are you gripping / picking? Video would definitely help whenever you get the chance.

How do I go about uploading a video? I see how to upload an image, but not a video.
Thanks.

You can upload the video to Youtube and post the link here.

No, this is not normal.

Awesome! Thanks. I’ll do that tomorrow👍

Does your hand cramp when you use it for normal activities or just when trying to play fast?

Was just kinda cramping yesterday when playing. Normally doesn’t cramp. Today I’ve been working to find my best/fasted position and I haven’t had any cramping. A little fatigue after 2-3 minutes. I’ll take a break and then come back at it, but no cramping.
Maybe it was just the position I was in yesterday.
Thanks!

See if that link works for one of my videos. I reduced the speed to 60% to maybe help you guys analyze. Let me know any suggestions. Thanks.

It looks like you are using elbow motion. Which there is nothing wrong with. It does look like you are getting a bit stuck with the pick.