Happy to be here. Will probably need help!

Hi! My name is Ross. I grew up in Scotland in the 70s/80s and now live in Australia. I will be 49 next week!

Where are you in your guitar journey?

• How many years have you been playing?
    I started playing on the 11th of June, 1988 so 32 yrs ago today!( I just realised as I was typing. And yes, I remember the exact date because it was 7 days from my birthday and I’d just got my first guitar and shitty amp!)

• What musical genres are you interested in?

Mostly instrumental: Satch, Vai, Eric Johnson but also love blues and orchestral stuff. So a few more would be SRV, Floyd, Led Zep, Iron Maiden, Hans Zimmer…

• Particular things you’re excited to learn / talk about here?

Well, that’s a big question. Mostly, improving my picking technique, which I had already realised was very sloppy and undisciplined and I struggle with speed. I can play with great feeling and vibrato, but I struggle past a certain speed, hard to describe but I’m hoping I can crack it (pun intended) by being here!

How have you gone about learning guitar so far?

• Self-taught? Regular lessons with a teacher? Both?

Self-taught all by ear. back in the day I’d wear cassette tapes out by rewinding over and over just to get a lick. At one point I played 12 hours a day learning most of the Flying in a Blue dream and Extremist album (badly). I have delved into theory a bit and grasp beyond the basics but I’m not AMAZING. I took a break from playing for many years, and became very rusty. Now I feel like I’m learning all over again. I can play better now, just not fast at all.

• Have you spent much time on technique before finding our stuff?

Yes, but not enough!

• What Cracking the Code material have you watched?

I watched all available videos on youtube. I binged the lot of them! Which led me to sign up here. So far on the site I’ve watched the introductory videos and the first couple of malmsteen primers.