Has anyone here successfully CHANGED their picking technique?

Hi all!

I started playing acoustic at age 7, and electric at age 13.

My teacher who influenced me the most was Michael Lee Firkins (I took lessons from him around 1988-1989 I think).

So, here’s the deal:

I started off learning ONLY alternate picking, teaching myself. I got ridiculously fast, but sloppy!

But when I started to take lessons from Mike, he used economy picking.

I then developed a “problem” —

I could play DESCENDING scales fast as h@ll using alternate OR economy picking, but could NOT play ASCENDING scales cleanly AT ALL using either method.

:confused:

After watching Marshall Harrison the last few years, I am determined to fully develop economy picking as my “main technique”.

However, I don’t know ANYONE besides Paul Gilbert, who has ever successfully done so!

Have any of you guys completely SWITCHED techniques successfully? I mean like how you hold your pick, your picking motion, etc.

I do NOT meaning learning from ground zero.

I worry that my muscle memory is so developed that I’ll never be able to overcome the switch from alternate to economy picking.

I’ll still keep trying, because I love guitar!!

I’d just like to know your experiences guys!

And for anyone who does NOT already know who Marshall Harrison is, he is the most advanced economy picker in the world right now; he took what Frank Gambale started, and took it to a million levels beyond.

:slight_smile:

3 Likes

Yes, I completely changed my technique. My current technique has almost nothing in common with my picking from 3-4 years ago. But as you say, it’s not very common.