Have I reached my maximum speed?

Hi everyone !

I’ve been playing for about 2 years and I have discovered Cracking the Code about a year and a half ago, which has helped me quite a lot in my quest for building speed.

I improved a lot since then, but now I feel like I hit a plateau at around 200 BPM.
Whenever I try to pick faster than that, even on a single note, I start to get tense and use my arm, and it doesn’t work.

Do you think that I reached my maximum possible speed ? Or maybe it has something to do with economy of motion ?
And if I did reach my maximum speed, is it something that I can improve over time ?

Thanks !

Well, it IS possible you did. But, only time will tell.

When I go past 200 BPM I use my arm. Is there some tension? Sure.

When you say, “it doesn’t work”, what exactly doesn’t work? Hand synchronization? Hitting notes with clarity?

Even if 200 BPM is your top speed, that’s a pretty damn good top speed to have. Most people can’t do that.

Yes, you can absolutely improve what you play over time even if 200 BPM is your top speed.

Personally, I don’t try and get faster anymore. I try and get more accurate. Certain things I do have a speed goal of reaching, but I’m not trying to exceed my fastest playing anymore.

3 Likes

Hi ! Thanks for your reply !

I think I should I have clarified that I was referring to 200 BPM 16th notes, which is not really that fast, because a lot of people seem to be able to at least tremolo pick at that speed (according to the Cracking the code poll) , but I can’t do it, especially not for a long period of time!

When I say that it doesn’t work, I mean that I lose control over my picking hand, dynamics, etc… And it sounds bad.

I mostly practice accuracy too (although I must admit that I didn’t practice much in the last few months), but I would love to be able to reach that kind of speed, because that’s apparently where a lot of Paul Gilbert and Yngwie licks sit.